Minutes of the County of Clinton Industrial Development Agency Governance Committee Wednesday, November 13, 2024

The meeting was called to order by Michael Zurlo, Chairperson, at 12:07 p.m. at the County of Clinton Industrial Development Agency (CCIDA) office located at 137 Margaret Street, Suite 208, Plattsburgh, New York.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Michael Zurlo, Chairperson

John VanNatten, Vice Chairperson

David Hoover, Member

STAFF PRESENT: Christopher Canada, Esq., Agency Counsel

Shannon Wagner, Esq., Agency Counsel

Mark Leta, CCIDA Member Keith Defayette, CCIDA Member Trent Trahan, CCIDA Member Joey Trombley, CCIDA Member Molly Ryan, Executive Director Toni Moffat, Executive Assistant

Dorothy Brunell, Administrative Assistant

OTHERS PRESENT: Garry Douglas, North Country Chamber of Commerce

Jason Menghile, Vortex USA, Inc.

Ryan Silva, New York State Economic Development Council

M. Zurlo waived the reading of the notice of the meeting published in the *Press Republican* on December 13, 2023.

Reading and Consideration of the Draft Minutes of the CCIDA Governance Committee Meeting of December 11, 2023

M. Zurlo waived the reading of the minutes of the December 11, 2023 Governance Committee meeting. He asked if there were any questions regarding the draft minutes and there were none.

On a motion by D. Hoover, and seconded by J. VanNatten, it was unanimously carried to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2023 Governance Committee meeting as presented.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Old Business

There was no old business to report.

New Business

Uniform Tax Exemption Policy (UTEP) Amendments

M. Zurlo advised he had provided the members of the Governance Committee a copy of the proposed revisions to the UTEP for their review prior to this meeting. M. Zurlo asked S. Wagner to outline the

revisions and additions that have been made to the UTEP. S. Wagner advised the action item today would be for the Governance Committee to recommend to the full board approval of a resolution to hold a public hearing regarding the proposed revisions to the Agency's UTEP. S. Wagoner advised that holding a public hearing on the revised UTEP is not a legal requirement, however, it is recommended in the interest of transparency and will allow the public an opportunity to provide comments to the Agency on the revised UTEP.

S. Wagner stated that some changes made the UTEP include technical changes such as replacing "chairman" with "chairperson." The two major changes made to the UTEP include standardization of green energy project benefits, as well as adding housing projects and including criteria for the different types of housing projects and the proposed abatement schedule for each. S. Wagner explained the UTEP covers four types of housing projects: market-rate housing, workforce housing, senior-designated housing, and affordable housing. Housing projects will have 12-year PILOTs, with the exception of market-rate housing projects which will have a very short 3-year PILOT term. S. Wagner indicated that deviations can still be made to the benefits outlined in the UTEP as deemed appropriate by the Agency. S. Wagner advised that following the public hearing, if the Agency still wishes to adopt the proposed revisions to the UTEP, they can do so; however, what the Governance Committee is doing today is simply deciding whether or not to recommend to the full board the approval of a resolution to authorize a public hearing. After the public hearing, assuming there are no additional changes required to the UTEP, the full board will vote on a resolution to adopt the updated UTEP.

M. Zurlo stated that it is the Governance Committee's opinion that the revisions made to the UTEP accurately reflect the discussions and the suggested changes.

On a motion by J. VanNatten, and seconded by D. Hoover, it was unanimously carried to recommend to the full board that a public hearing be held regarding the proposed revisions to the UTEP.

There being no further business to discuss, J. VanNatten motioned to adjourn the meeting at 12:12 p.m., seconded by D. Hoover.

Michael Zurlo, Governance Committee Chairperson